Blog Tour & Giveaway: Reckless Abandon by Andrea Randall

Blog Tour, Book Review & Giveaway:

Reckless Abandon by Andrea Randall

ANDREA BLOG BANNER

Book Excerpt:

Before he can respond, the bartender takes the stage and announces Bo. My fingers tingle and I feel slightly dizzy. I notice that Rae is staring at me and am thankful that Regan isn’t. I tilt my chin to the stage to somehow reassure her that everything’s fine. Bo comes out wearing black jeans and a green t-shirt. The green t-shirt he told me reminded him of my eyes. I swallow hard as he sits on the stool and, without saying a word, starts strumming.

Every feeling from the first night I heard him play flies through me like a drunken seagull. I take several deep breaths as he makes his way through his original work, praying that what I’m feeling isn’t regret. The strings, his fingers, the warm bourbon tone kissing the microphone; they’re all lulling me into his presence, his being.

 

4.5 Stars

When Ten Days of Perfect ends, Ember is distraught about finding out Bo’s involvement in an incident that happened earlier on in the story. She turns to Adrian for comfort and tries to convince herself that what she had with Bo was merely a passing fling. She tries to take stock of her feelings and navigates through her rekindled relationship with Adrian while working for the same not for profit chaired by Bo. This doesn’t work so well – it doesn’t take much for her to realize that she is still in love with him. Their relationship takes many twists and turns as they both try to move on from each other. And then it happens: an unimaginable tragedy that leaves them reeling from pain, anger and confusion. Bo and Ember must learn how to endure their heartbreak whether separately or as a couple.

I’m going to mention up front that this has been one of the best books I have read in 2013 (with TLS of course). I read this book first as a Beta for Andrea and then twice more as the versions were being finalized and finally published. The emotions evoked in me by her writing have not changed between the first and last times I have read this book. Reckless Abandon is Andrea Randall’s break out work. There is so much more feeling, intensity, pain and love that have been rolled up into such a wonderful conclusion to Ten Days of Perfect.

There are a host of reasons for the effect that this book had on me. Andrea Randall has taken the characters to a whole new level.  It is a coming of age story in which the characters are catapulted into the depths of despair as we wait with bated breath to see how they survive. Bo and Ember cease to become perfect in the reader’s eyes. They are flawed and fallible, they thrash and flinch from their grief, they react in undignified ways. The cast of characters from Book 1 are back, and they each provide different layers to Bo and Ember’s story.  The author also takes her time to develop each character’s personal healing process and the consequences of each one’s actions. Oftentimes, misfortunes can either make or break a couple and Bo and Ember are not immune to the outcome that this heartbreak has on their bond.  Their agony is so heart wrenching and at times hard to swallow, but it gave them substance and integrity. It made them feel real in my eyes.  Andrea Randall also has an extreme talent for writing songs and poetry. The story is so full of these sweet words and verses one can’t help but feel these expressions as if they are leaping out of the book and into your heart. And the romantic scenes between Bo and Ember – they are electrifying, sizzling, achingly tender and romantic.   Andrea Randall’s words drown you with a sorrow so intense, it makes you fear that each time they are together may be their last.

As I stood with a  group of people getting ready to go to dinner the night before the Chicago Author Event last September, I realized I was standing right next to Andrea Randall. I saw a shy, quiet lady who had just published her first book. I turned to her and said, “hey, you’re Andrea Randall. I loved Ten Days of Perfect and Bo.” She has called me her First Bo Fan ever since. And she might still be shy (although not after you get to know her) but she is certainly no longer a new  and emerging author. Andrea Randall has come into her own. With her words, with her characters and with her writing. Congratulations, Andrea Randall!

About the Author:

23325_10100823666831865_333684480_n

I started writing poetry long before writing fiction. I firmly believe Poetry is a solid foundation for all other forms of writing. It taught me that a single word can make or break the world.

I write fiction because my characters have a story and they want me to tell it.

I hope you enjoy the pieces of my soul that I share with you.

FB: www.facebook.com/authorandrearandall

Blog: www.andrearandall.com

Twitter: ARandallAuthor

GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17191817-reckless-abandon

aga6@cornell.edu

Click On the Link Below for a Chance to Win A Signed Copy of:

Ten Days of Perfect, Reckless Abandon or In the Stillness

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

justanothersinglegirlinlondon

A blog about dating, food and exploring London

My Pretty Little Life

Love, Life & Laughter

Travels with Myself

Navigating life after loss. Finding inspiration on the journey.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Eat Play Move

Manage weight and wellness without dieting or denial. Have Faith in Food, Fun & Fitness!

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

Wyndy Dee

Where creative minds come together! Authors, Wannabe Writers, Editors, Bloggers and Readers Welcome!

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

http://www.willowaster.com/

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Beauty, Brains and Books

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Sounds That Matter

giving your ears a chance to hear great music

In the Air

A Dance Novel by Crystal Serowka

