Blog Tour and Giveaway! Mogul by Ginger Voight

Mogul by Ginger Voight

(Book 3 in the Groupie/Rockstar Trilogy)

Win a Free Copy of the Groupie Trilogy or 

The Grand Prize of an Autographed Set of the Groupie Trilogy!

banner02

4.5 stars!!

BBB is so proud to be a stop in the Blog Tour for Mogul by Ginger Voight! I recently posted a review for this wonderful book on The Indie Bookshelf so I thought I would mix it up and visit with Ginger Voight for this one.  This final book in the Groupie/Rockstar trilogy is the perfect conclusion to the story of Andy and Vanni. Their profound devotion to each other helps them to overcome the odds and triumph through their love and forgiveness. I hope you all grab at the chance to read these books. You won’t regret it!

Synopsis of Books One to Three (Groupie, Rock Star and Mogul)16178680

When Andy Foster met the sexy frontman of an up-and-coming rock band, the most she could imagine was a steamy stolen night of passion. But her attraction to Giovanni Carnevale hit her like a bolt of lightning. Soon she was traipsing all over the country, an unintentional groupie, finding herself thrust into his path even when she knew it was a very bad idea. Over four years their romance would encounter indiscretions, crazed stalkers and the interloping paparazzi, keeping these star-crossed lovers circling around a happily ever after they can never quite catch.

In author Ginger Voight’s beloved “Groupie” trilogy, three books explore the passionate and angst-driven tale of Andy and Vanni. The third and final book, “Mogul,” picks up the emotional roller-coaster begun in “Groupie” and “Rock Star.” The saga that began with that first meeting in Philadelphia races to an explosive conclusion on the opposite coast, as Andy and Vanni are on the verge of getting everything they ever wanted. Everything blows literally to pieces, forcing Vanni – and Graham – to risk it all for the sake of love.

This is your backstage pass to find out why readers, reviewers and bloggers have fallen for a love story that was never supposed to happen.”

In Mogul, Author Ginger Voight turns up the scandals, secrets, passion and heartbreak to 11. Flawed characters face excess and all the pitfalls that entails.

Disclaimer: This series features a hero you might find you love to hate, a heroine you may want to slap, and frustrating triangles with dubious fidelity. Those who cannot abide “cheaters,” who need their bad boys to be mostly good, or who must have a HEA at the end of each book, may be advised to look elsewhere.

Author Interview with Ginger Voight

Thank you so much to Ginger Voight for taking for this very open and insightful interview. I think you’re going to enjoy this one – we get into all of the details!

BBB:  Mogul is the last installment in the story of Andy and Vanni. I am actually devastated that it has come to an end. Do you feel the same way?

Ginger:  Absolutely. After I finished the first draft, I sobbed for a half hour afterwards (at least,) like I had just sent my kids off to college in another country. One of the biggest benefits of my next book is that I can be with these characters again, even if it’s as supporting characters. That helps lessen the sting.

BBB:  How long did it take you to write it?

Ginger:  I wrote the first draft of “Mogul” as my annual “NaNoWriMo” project. Nanowrimo is an annual event that happens every November, challenging writers to complete a 50K word novel in 30 days. I’ve participated seven of the last nine years. It’s a great community effort for writers to get past any creative block and complete a first draft in an unbridled writing frenzy. It can be a lot of fun if you don’t care much for sleep and much life away from the computer.

BBB:  Did you know from the very beginning how you wanted their story to end?

Ginger:  Yes, but we had a helluva time getting there! “Groupie” was meant to be a stand-alone novel, but by the time I got to the end of that first book, I knew I couldn’t end it the way I wanted. There was so much left to uncover about these characters, so much growing up they had to do. And Graham Baxter wrote himself into that first book. It completely rearranged my outline with this new complication of a triangle that needed to be resolved for both Team Vanni and Team Graham.

BBB:  What an emotional last scene, so beautifully wrapped up and eloquently tied together. Are you happy with your ending? Did you face any challenges in writing the last few pages of this book?

Ginger:  Thank you so much! That ending was born in the second draft after notes from my beta readers. I was so emotionally spent after those last four/five chapters that I rushed the ending because I just needed to resolve it all. Fortunately my betas told me that didn’t work, that they felt cheated out of my rushed ending. I went back in to clean it up and managed to give my readers, my characters and myself a much more fulfilling emotional payoff. After I finished writing it, I did the Breakfast Club/Judd Nelson fist pump because I knew instinctively that was the ending it always should have been… even if I didn’t realize it at the time.

BBB:  How did the idea of the trilogy come to mind? What made you want to write about the life of an up and coming rock star and his love affair with a freelance writer?

Ginger:  I honestly never meant for it to be a trilogy. I was completely torn when I reached the cruise ship scenes in Book One, because I knew that the original ending I had planned no longer made sense. With Vanni especially, I couldn’t buy that he’d ride in on some white stallion to magically become the man she needed him to be in that life or death moment in Philadelphia. In order to get him there, I had to dig around in his psyche and put him through his paces. I knew at the very least there would need to be two books. By the end of Book 2, I knew I still owed Graham his HEA and I couldn’t just leave that loose end dangling. In fact, there were so many loose ends that I had to see it all out to the bitter end. The story that emerged was completely organic to their actions. Often they surprised even me.

I made Andy a freelance writer because it facilitated her journey to follow him as he started to gain national exposure. As a writer myself, I figured I could bring that authenticity to the story. I’m also a fan of celebrities who are on the brink of success, and that’s where your greatest chance of a genuine connection comes in. Once they’re famous, you’re behind the red velvet rope in a lot of ways. When you are there from the ground floor, you are often a trusted part of the team. You’re not just fans, you can actually develop friendships. Since that was a social environment I was already familiar with on a personal level, it seemed a natural starting point for the story.

BBB:  Are any of the main characters in the book inspired by people in your life? Who is your favorite character?

Ginger:  When I sat down to write the story, I meant to tailor many of the characters after people I knew. Iris is based on my great friend Shirley Ozment, who was on Hal Sparks’ street team back when I fell into that scene in 2004. As a promoter for several different celebrities, she gave me insight and access behind the scenes. The L.A. fan event around Vanni’s birthday was heavily influenced by the Hal Sparks Sparksvision that Shirley coordinated and ran. If anyone knows about fans and their crushable celebrities, it’s Shirley. Jacob is based on my best friend of 32 years, Jeff Mayo, who has often been my unofficial therapist whenever I was going through rocky relationships. I put a lot of me, and more of what I would like to be, in Andy, since I got to live fan fantasies vicariously through her. And I made Vanni a combination of all my idols in the things that both attract me to them and make any kind of relationship beyond a fan impossible. In the end, though, these characters fleshed out into three dimensional people who were all completely original despite who may have inspired them. My favorite character might very well be Graham, since I put a lot of my husband, Steven, into him as a loving, dedicated, steadfast, standup guy. (The secret is out: I married my Graham. This was the main reason I needed to put Vanni through the wringer to make him worthy of a HEA.)

BBB:  What type of research did you have to do in order to accurately portray Vanni’s life and business relationships as a celebrity in the music world?

Ginger:  I owe big thanks to Hal Sparks for that. He’s helped give me insight into the whole celebrity thing, and since he has his own band it was easy to take what I learned knowing and following these guys to that next level, creatively speaking.  Thanks to my association with Hal, I know people who have been involved in grass roots music promotion and celebrity promotion. I picked all their brains accordingly. It also helped to work in the entertainment industry. I was able to meet working musicians and those closest to them.

BBB:  The main characters in this trilogy are all very flawed and imperfect. I think this is the main reason why I really enjoyed these books. The three books basically represent a coming of age for each and every one of them.  How difficult was it to develop each character separately and more importantly, was it challenging to link them back to the storyline so that everything flowed together as planned?

Ginger:  It’s honestly the main reason I was so interested in telling the story. One of the things about the royalty of celebrity is that we often don’t realize how screwed up so many of them are behind the curtain. Why do they act like they do? What motivates them? What makes them real? I could write the fantasy of getting the rocker to bed, but to get to his heart was much, much trickier. I loved that they were so flawed and made so many mistakes, because that’s what made them leap off the page to me. I loved them. I hated them. They drove me crazy. I really didn’t fall in love with Vanni until “Rock Star,” when I got inside his head and understood what motivated him. He was more than just this selfish douche that kept breaking Andy’s heart in “Groupie.” He was terribly wounded, stunted emotionally as this lonely little boy who always thought the people he loved would leave him. There’s a scene in the NYC hotel after he met his dad, when he told Andy, “It hurts.” It just broke my heart. I suddenly knew why Andy loved him, and why she could never let him go. I followed where they led at that point. I knew where we were headed; I was more interested in what road they wanted to travel to get there. That’s one of the most rewarding parts of being a writer, I think. You can create an outline of events that map the way from start to finish, but the characters help you enjoy the scenery along the way.  In essence, the true story is about how the characters react to these events. The challenge is sometimes postponing things in the plot until the character has grown enough to keep going. (Which is why there are three books instead of just one.)

BBB:  I loved the way Andy (and even Maggie) broke the mold on the normally stereotyped women who date rock stars. Are you getting the same reaction from your other readers? Why did you choose to break the mold on a celebrity’s love interest?

Ginger:  I started writing Rubenesque romances to put larger sized women onto the literary landscape. It’s sort of my axe to grind. As a plus-size woman I usually don’t see myself represented in the pages of a book unless it’s a supporting role. But my life experience isn’t the sad, lonely wallflower usually reserved for those of us who don’t “fit” in. I’ve been able to fall in love with the guys of my dreams, so I knew I wanted to write the stories that reflected that. Weight can be an issue, but it’ll never be a deal-breaker. In “Love Plus One,” my heroine’s weight was her reason to stay “in the shadows.” In “ Under Texas Skies,” my heroine used her weight as a barrier to keep men away. In “My Immortal,” my heroine was a reincarnated vampire from a time period where heavier women were considered more desirable, making her even more appealing to the lover that had searched for hundreds of years to find her. In every tale, my character saw the world through this prism of being plus-sized. “Groupie” was my challenge to myself to make a character whose weight wasn’t at all her barrier to getting what she wanted, and really kind of secondary to the story. I knew I wanted to write a character who wasn’t the stereotypical image of beauty, but didn’t really care. I never wanted Andy to apologize for being a size 16, I wanted her to be sexy and self-assured despite being an atypical heroine.  I had hoped that making her the object of a celebrity’s desire – the guy that all the girls wanted – would show that any girl is worthy of being loved, even when they think (or have been taught) they haven’t got a chance. Most of the readers have been really supportive because they found this message inspiring and encouraging. I expected way more criticism about how “unrealistic” this may be, but honestly those voices have been in the minority. One notable critique came from a woman who professed to be a size 14/16, who said that she couldn’t buy that both Vanni (a hot rock star) and Graham (a rich mogul) would be chasing after a size-16 girl. Frankly that makes me sad that any woman could feel that way. We are so much more than a number on a scale or on labels inside our clothing. Good men, no matter what their status or occupation, will recognize this. If nothing else, I want my books to reflect that.

BBB:  In Mogul, you introduce several new characters who might go on to have stories of their own in the future. How does a writer know which characters to choose when thinking of writing a new book?

Ginger:  I’m actually pretty excited about the characters that came into play in “Mogul.” I had the idea of what I wanted to do beyond the “Groupie” series, and it all happily coincided with the characters I had already established in several books, even those written prior to “Groupie.” As a fan of Stephen King, I always loved it when he’d include little tidbits from his earlier works as little asides to the reader, so it excited me that I could bring that feeling into the new books. Plus these are characters I truly enjoy spending time with, and that was my biggest motivator of all. As for how to choose the characters, often they follow the story you want to tell. Certain situations demand certain characters, and then you craft the character toward their purpose in the story. But they have minds of their own and do whatever they want to do once they hit the page. A great example of this is Graham, who was introduced as a minor character but had instant chemistry with Andy when they interacted.

BBB:  Now that the book is released, do you have any afterthoughts about how you may have wanted to change how it ended? Did you have an alternate ending in mind?

Ginger:  I’m pretty happy with the way it came together. Looking back I realize this ending was so much more rewarding to me than the slapdash job I would have done at the end of “Groupie” had Vanni been able to make the sacrifice for Andy like I had originally planned. We took a lot of detours to get there, but inevitably I don’t think it could have ended any other way.

BBB:  Please tell us a little bit about yourself. Where are you from? What do you like to do? Where and at what times of the day do you like to write? Are you currently a full time writer?

Ginger:  I’m a Texas girl, born and bred. I grew up in Abilene, a smallish, military city about three hours west of Dallas. Since then I’ve bounced a bunch between California and Texas. I recently returned back to the west coast after I raised my two sons in the safe familiarity of my hometown. I’m happily married to a wonderful nerd/geek, who keeps up with all my obsessive pastimes, including being a comedy groupie. I’m also a pop culture junkie. I love TV, movies and books. I can quote things like “Pirates of the Caribbean” and “Seinfeld” in casual conversation. I love to learn and I love to travel. I was a full-time freelance writer when I wrote “Groupie.” Thanks to “Groupie,” I can devote my time to writing fiction. I hope to break into screenplays eventually because it marries so much of what I already love, though the idea often scares the crap out of me. I write best between midnight and dawn, because that’s “me” time. When you are a mom who works at home, kids and husbands and even my dogs think I’m on call for whatever the family needs. The midnight hour is mine to do with as I wish. So I play in fantasy worlds.

BBB:  When did you know that you wanted to be a writer?

Ginger: It happened when I was eleven years old. Mrs. Adams was my sixth grade language arts teacher at Alice Landergin Elementary in Amarillo, Texas. For Halloween she passed out a mimeograph of a traditional Americana two-story house. The assignment? Write a Halloween story to go along with the house, which we could color in however we saw fit. I’d never written a story before then but I was a voracious reader and a good student. I felt pretty confident I could do well with the assignment. I had every intention of writing a scary story about a haunted house, but the minute my pencil touched the paper the story took an unexpected turn. I ended up writing a story about a man who had built the house for his new wife so they could fill it with children, only they ended up dying childless many years later. The house was willed to be turned into an orphanage, to give parentless children the cozy home it was built to be. When Mrs. Adams passed the papers back out, I was excited to see what kind of grade I would get. I wasn’t worried about the non-traditional approach until I realized everyone else got their papers back and I hadn’t. So I went up to the front of the class to ask about my paper, and she motioned over her shoulder to where it was pinned on the bulletin board with a big, honkin’ A. At that point I knew that I hadn’t found writing. Writing found me. I’ve never really looked back.

BBB:  Any new projects in 2013 that we can look forward to?

Ginger:  I have three projects scheduled for completion in 2013. The first is the spin-off to “Groupie,” titled “Fierce.” It continues Jordi’s journey to carve out her place on a national stage even though she doesn’t “fit in” the traditional pop mold. We’ll get to see more of the characters we grew to love in the “Groupie” saga, along with Shannon, Dominique and Jorge from “Love Plus One,” and Jolene Anderson from “Under Texas Skies.” It’ll be a very personal love letter to any girl out there anywhere who is being told she has to change to be accepted. I’m also going to step back into the Chick Lit/Contemporary Romance genre with “The Leftover Club.” A group of high school friends meet up again at their tenth reunion, only to find the one thing that set bonded them (none of them landed the hottest boy in school,) will shatter when he seduces one of the Club. After that it’s a no-holds-barred competition to bed the guy everyone always wanted. Finally I plan to finish a horror-ish paranormal erotic story about a ghost that falls in love with a traumatized woman, and ultimately becomes obsessed with bringing her over to “the other side.” It’s called “The Lovely Haunting.” It’s a lovely haunting… until it isn’t.

Comment Below to Win an EBook Copy of the Groupie Trilogy

Enter  for a Chance to Win an Autographed Set of the Groupie Trilogy

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Meet Ginger Voight

532697_384743131563642_1944907157_n-225x300Ginger Voight is prolific author, freelance writer and optioned screenwriter. Her fiction is diverse, with novels like the edgy, coming-of-age drama DIRTY LITTLE SECRETS, and the fun family adventure for kids of all ages, COMIC SQUAD.

 Having grown up reading different authors like Danielle Steel and Stephen King, Ginger has always been drawn more to story than to genre. This shows up in her various stories. Titles such as MY IMMORTAL and TASTE OF BLOOD are a delicious, heady mix of horror, suspense, and romance.

 Genre romance, however, has held a special place in her heart, ever since she read her first Harlequin novel when she was only eleven. As a result, Ginger is making a name for herself writing romances of her own, starring women who look more like the average American woman rather than those traditionally represented in the size-biased American media. Her Rubenesque romances were created especially for those heroines with fuller figures, who can still get the man of their dreams if only they believe they can. Such titles include UNDER TEXAS SKIES, LOVE PLUS ONE, GROUPIE and PICTURE POSTCARDS.

 Ginger was included in the best-selling book by Smith Magazine NOT QUITE WHAT I WAS PLANNING, featuring her six-word memoir.

                                                Website      Blog     Facebook   Goodreads

Twitter: @Geevie

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber Slagle
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 22:01:27

    Would love to win this ebook trilogy!! Thank you for the giveaway!!

    Reply

  2. *Pernille*
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 22:53:07

    This serie sounds awesome 😀
    Love the interview. Great job
    Thank you for this giveaway 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tess
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 07:18:34

    Great interview!! I didn’t know that Ginger knew Hal Sparks!! OMG!! I’m a big fan of Showtime’s Queer As Folk series and I love Hal!! I’m so flipping excited that Ginger had Hal’s help when researching for the book!! *major fan girl moment* I’ve read amazing reviews and I’ve been following the blog tour. It’s been on my TBR list and I would really love to read it badly!! Thanks for the opportunity to win a free ecopy of the Groupie trilogy and all the best to Ginger!! 🙂

    tess_halim(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Reply

    • anngom
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 08:29:20

      Thanks so much Tess! Glad you enjoyed it. It does look like Ginger knows quite a few people from showbusiness! Thanks for entering to win a copy of the trilogy. I will send your name and email address to Ginger!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

justanothersinglegirlinlondon

A blog about dating, food and exploring London

My Pretty Little Life

Love, Life & Laughter

Travels with Myself

Navigating life after loss. Finding inspiration on the journey.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Eat Play Move

Manage weight and wellness without dieting or denial. Have Faith in Food, Fun & Fitness!

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

Wyndy Dee

Where creative minds come together! Authors, Wannabe Writers, Editors, Bloggers and Readers Welcome!

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

http://www.willowaster.com/

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Beauty, Brains and Books

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Sounds That Matter

giving your ears a chance to hear great music

In the Air

A Dance Novel by Crystal Serowka

