My First Blogger Interview!

Check out Stephanie Kaye of In Wonderland’s interview of BBB which just posted today!

Blogs To Talk About (8)

Name: Nina Gomez
Age: Really? I’m so old
 
What’s the story behind the blog name?
I was trying to find a name that will properly reflect the things that I wanted to write about. My author friends Crystal Serowka and Michelle Mankin actually came up with this name. I had a few other ideas, but they convinced me that the name was well suited to the things I was passionate about. I have a full time career that I love so I wanted to incorporate that in my blog as well.
Why did you start to book blog and how long have you been book blogging?
I started right after I attended the TFIC Author Signing in Chicago last September 2012. So, it’s been about only four months. I have been writing since I was in grade school but that event and meeting so many people who are now my close friends just inspired me to get out of my comfort zone and do what I love to do, which is write. The blog started out as really something I just wanted to do for me. It’s kind of taken off thanks to the support of the people in our book groups, and so I am waiting to see where it takes me.
I was also offered a slot as a reviewer for The Indie Bookshelf and so I read and review for them as well. They are the funniest, most genuine, most amazing group of women I have ever met and I just really enjoy being a part of their team.
Where is your favorite place to read?
On the couch while my family is watching TV or just hanging out. Also on vacation when I’m by the pool or on the beach. Or on the plane.
E-book or Hardcopy? Why?
I am hooked on my E book. It took a long time for me to make the switch, but now that I have done it, I don’t think I can ever go back. I love that everything is at my fingertips and I can order books instantly and on every whim.
Favorite book of all-time and why?
The Thornbirds by Colleen McCullough. I really just fell into it and it made me think for years and years to come. It was the first grown up book I read while in high school and the love between the main characters was just so real and painful for me.
Do you have any blogs/bloggers that you look up to or that inspire you (feel free to name-drop)?
You know, the first blogger I followed was Maryse and I read everything she recommended. I still only have Maryse and Madison on my follow list. Of course, The Indie Bookshelf is my favorite one because I feel so privileged to have been asked to join them.
I am getting to meet a lot more bloggers these days and they are all so nice and supportive so my list might grow as time goes by.
What do you like to do in your free time? 
I don’t really have much free time since I work long hours during the week, but aside from reading, I love just spending time with my family. I also run one or two half marathons every year, so I spend some time training for those. I absolutely love to shop and am pretty obsessive about learning about the latest trends in fashion or the latest designs that come out every season from my favorite designers. I also love to…sleep. I take a lot of naps during the weekends. They are a must for me. This will change in a few weeks as I take on more reviews and try to get more writing in when I’m not at work during the week.
Name a dessert, a color, a drink?  
Chocolate shakes, Pink and will you believe it I don’t really drink?
If you could be one character, who would you be and why?
Hmmm. I really don’t know, there are so many amazing characters out there that I would probably want to pick and choose among some of their qualities and combine them into one.
How many books (on average) do you read a month?
I would say I could average about six to eight book each month, depending on what I have scheduled in terms of reviews. Every now and then I sneak in a book that I don’t have to review to take the pressure off a little bit.
What are your favorite book-to-movie adaptations? Why?
I feel like a loser but I don’t really watch movie adaptations of my favorite books.  I just feel like leaving a writer’s words to my imagination works better for me.
Do you have any book boyfriends? If so, name them and explain why?
I am a hopeless romantic at heart so my latest book boyfriends have been the alpha males who just every so often have spouted out such romantic words or have fallen hopelessly in love with their heroines: Gideon from the Crossfire Series for the way he just loves that girl Eva; Kellan from Thoughtless/Effortless because he just stuck through Kiera’s craziness and indecisiveness and was just madly in love with her; Jake from the Mighty Storm because he loved Trudy from the moment he saw her (oh my gosh, how romantic is that)…. And the two Calebs – Caleb from the Opportunist because he is so anguished and tormented I don’t know if he will ever get to be happy and Caleb from the Captured in the Dark/Seduced in the Dark series because he was so bad that it made him so good.
Name 5 books that everyone should at least read once:
The Thornbirds by Colleen McCullough, Where or When by Anita Shreve, The Last Time They Met by Anita Shreve, Here on Earth by Alice Hoffman and The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher.
What is your dream job?
Since I have accepted the fact that I need to earn money, I have my dream job. I have a great job in a wonderful company and I work with the most amazing people ever! BUT…… just writing and making money for my writing would be the ultimate dream job.
What book are you most looking forward to reading?
Right now, I really want to finish all of the Trilogies that are supposed to be coming out this year. Reckless by S.C. Stephens and Thief by Tarryn Fisher top my list.
What I want the world to look forward to reading is In the Air by my friend Crystal Serowka. I also have a friend, Willow Aster releasing in a week, and so many others like Calia Read, Leslie Fear and Andrea Randall releasing in a month or so. So many friends brave enough to live their dreams. I am so lucky I know them.

Nina, It was so great getting to know you! I will have to check out those 5 books! Thank you so much for participating in my BTTA and I hope to continue to talk and become friends! xo

Leave a Reply

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

My Pretty Little Life

I'm doing this for me

Travels with Myself

Navigating life after loss. Finding inspiration on the journey.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Eat Play Move

Manage weight and wellness without dieting or denial. Have Faith in Food, Fun & Fitness!

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

Wyndy Dee

Where creative minds come together! Authors, Wannabe Writers, Editors, Bloggers and Readers Welcome!

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

http://www.willowaster.com/

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Beauty, Brains and Books

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Sounds That Matter

giving your ears a chance to hear great music

In the Air

A Dance Novel by Crystal Serowka

