How Was Your Superbowl Sunday?

It’s been a whSuper_Bowl_XLVII_logoile since I’ve written anything remotely book related so what better subject to talk about than the Superbowl? We all know what transpired over the weekend – sports stores were packed, grocery shelves cleaned out and empty, husbands not knowing what to do with themselves. Stocking beer in the fridge over and over again. Working for an ad agency makes the Superbowl just as big an event as it is to everyone else. We have giveaways and Facebook pages and polls to fill out to rate the best commercials. I am proud to say that we do have a couple of those each and every year….

So here’s the clincher. The last time I watched the Superbowl was when the Bears were in Miami and my husband thought he died and went to heaven as I surprised him with VIP tickets. While trying to see if I could catch a glimpse of him, I had 40 high school juniors and seniors roaming around my house thanks to my children who hosted a Superbowl party at that time. So, save from running to and from the TV to catch the Halftime Act, it has always felt just like an ordinary Sunday night to me. This from a wife whose husband has been a die- hard Bears fan since I met him 25 years ago. When we lived outside of the country eons ago, this husband would actually set the alarm up for 2 am to catch the seasons’ games live via satellite.

Is it bad that his obsession has never really rubbed off on me?

I actually take advantage of this event for some peace and quiet around the house…..For time to work on the computer, time to write, time to read. For some reason, the house just doesn’t need me as much during the three or so hours that this huge to do is going on. Everyone seems to be self-sufficient, no one seems to want my attention. No one is hungry, no one needs help with their homework. No one is asking me what I’m up to. No one. Peace and quiet and lots of food. For this I am truly thankful.

I guess I can say that I do love Superbowl Sunday like everybody else. Hope yours was just as fun as mine!

P.S.  Who else has Single Ladies playing over and over in their heads today?

Leave a Reply

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

My Pretty Little Life

I'm doing this for me

Travels with Myself

Navigating life after loss. Finding inspiration on the journey.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Eat Play Move

Manage weight and wellness without dieting or denial. Have Faith in Food, Fun & Fitness!

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

Wyndy Dee

Where creative minds come together! Authors, Wannabe Writers, Editors, Bloggers and Readers Welcome!

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

http://www.willowaster.com/

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Beauty, Brains and Books

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Sounds That Matter

giving your ears a chance to hear great music

In the Air

A Dance Novel by Crystal Serowka

