Book Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

5 Stars!!!15717943

I have ranted and raved about Colleen Hoover on this blog before. The published author of Slammed and Point of Return delivers yet another bestseller. As you all know, I don’t dabble much in this genre, but I heard so much about this book that I just had to pick it up and give it a try.  And that book cover! So beautifully haunting. I stayed up all night one night during the holidays to read it. I really didn’t think this book would affect me as much as it did, but it did. It took me a few days to get over it. It took me much longer to stop thinking about it.

When Sky meets Dean Holder, she is taken aback by his urgent need to get to know her. Holder is intense and volatile, he just won’t leave her be. Sky is an almost normal teenager who has often stopped to wonder why she doesn’t do relationships. She just shies away from them.  As their friendship develops, Sky learns that she isn’t who she thinks she is and neither is Holder. They have a connection to the past that when revealed, will change her world forever.  And there is no turning back.

This story isn’t your typical boy meets girl YA romance. It is a heart wrenching account of one young girl’s coming of age and learning the truth about who she really is. It is about a boy who has searched for his friend for so long, he doesn’t know what to do when he finds her. When he does, what he knows will break her.  The book focuses purely on the stages that Sky goes through in the process of accepting who she is and what had happened to her. She is not alone, however. She has Holder. Their conversations are deep and lingering, emotional and tormenting. Colleen Hoover in all her eloquence manages to evoke a rollercoaster of emotions in every single page of her book. When you can physically feel the poignancy of a writer’s words, your heart commits them to memory.

“When I woke up and saw you in my bed I wanted to cry, Holder.  I wanted to cry because I needed you there with me so bad. I knew in that moment that I was in love with you…..I knew that no matter what happened with my life, you were my home. You stole the biggest part of my heart that night.”

There are events that we experience in our lives that somehow get filed away in the recesses of our mind. Our brains have a way of tucking them in a neat little corner waiting to surface as time progresses, as we connect the pieces of our lives. It’s our coping mechanism, it minimizes our damage.  Somehow we always knew, we always know, and when it all comes rushing in, we are faced with the anguish of acceptance or denial.  Holder’s love for Sky is her saving grace. And at the end of it all, we find out that “Hopeless” isn’t a word to describe their future.  Simply put, it was really was just a name.

“I’m scared of how disconnected I feel to Hope. I know we’re the same person, but I feel like what happened to her didn’t really happen to me.”

Leave a Reply

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

My Pretty Little Life

I'm doing this for me

Travels with Myself

Navigating life after loss. Finding inspiration on the journey.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Eat Play Move

Manage weight and wellness without dieting or denial. Have Faith in Food, Fun & Fitness!

Beauty Brains & Books

Blogging what we love.

Wyndy Dee

Where creative minds come together! Authors, Wannabe Writers, Editors, Bloggers and Readers Welcome!

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

http://www.willowaster.com/

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Beauty, Brains and Books

A Blog About My Favorite Things

Sounds That Matter

giving your ears a chance to hear great music

In the Air

A Dance Novel by Crystal Serowka

